Hello world!

 

Chazy Lake

Chazy Lake

The best words I write come from my heart, but sometimes it’s hard to get there in the cacophony of life and business. So “Chazydays” is to remind me of the place where I first fell in love with books and writing. In a summer “camp” – the kind with a Victorian roof and big rooms for large gatherings – I spent summers lying in a chaise or on the lawn, book in front of me. Sure I swam, sure I explored. I berry-picked and climbed trees, encountered snakes and angry hornets. But the moments that meant that most had to do with books, into which I fell wholeheartedly. With night waves crashing and shutters banging in the wind, I read Burroughs’ Mars and Tarzan stories, Little Women, mysteries and classics. No one said “It’s bedtime” while I read late into the night, and no one looked over my shoulder to see what I was writing. I was left alone to visit worlds I had yet to understand. There is a place in everyone’s heart that calls them home. Chazy Lake, in the Dannemora mountains of upstate New York, is that peaceful kingdom for me. It’s a riprap world of childhood, nature, the sound and scents of hot oatmeal in the morning and blueberry muffins in the oven, the sight and warmth of a morning fire, the smells of fresh forest growth and, inside, baked goods and coffee. It’s that non-judgmental, joy-filled world we experience once or twice in our lives, if we’re lucky. Out of such an experience comes the writing muse I follow, the heart and soul of imagination. I go there in my mind because, like so much in life, it is gone from my present, now filling someone else’s life with peace and respite. I go there, too, for the pure feeling engendered by sunny days and stormy nights, family, friends and experience. Once again I’m young and free, filling my mind with fresh life and undefeated dreams. I will write here, in the spirit of that place and the people whom I loved as a child. I will seek the independence and the fresh look at life I had then. I’ll laugh, as we all did. I’ll live between past and future, loving books and writing, inspiration and friendship. Join me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hello world!

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

